Welcome to Geology Department

Government College Kottayam was established in 1972, and the Department of Geology started functioning in 1976 with B.Sc. Geology programme. The M.Sc. Geology programme was introduced in 1984 and it was inaugurated by Dr. Harsh K. Gupta, Eminent Geoscientist and the Leader of the third Indian Scientific Expedition to Antarctica. Late Prof. P. Krishnan Nair is the founder Professor of the department. This is the sole department offering undergraduate and post-graduate programmes in Geology under Mahathma Gandhi University, Kottayam, Kerala.

The sanctioned strength of the B.Sc. programme is 15 and that of the M.Sc. programme is 10. Currently, there are seven permanent faculty members in the Department, of whom three have doctoral degrees and the rest are pursuing their doctoral studies.

Most of our post graduate students get placement in organizations of national and international repute like Geological Survey of India (GSI), Central Groundwater Board (CGWB), Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC), Gas Authority of India (GAIL), Atomic Mineral Directorate (AMD), Coal India Limited, National Centre for Earth Science Studies (NCESS), International Oil drilling companies and various State Geology Organizations like Centre for Water Resource Development and Management (CWRDM), Groundwater Department and Mining & Geology Department. Some of our alumni are working as faculty in various educational institutions in India and abroad. In addition, a few others have distinguished themselves in other walks of life like Defense services, Kerala Police Service and other government departments. Students aspiring to pursue their higher studies join various Indian and foreign universities and research institutes like the Australian National University, the Federation University Australia, the University of Wollongong, New South Wales Australia, the IITs, the Indian School of Mines and various central universities.

The department regularly conducts seminars, workshops and invited talks for acquainting the students with the latest development in various fields of geology.The Department fulfills its social commitment by conducting extensional activities like geology exhibition (Geoex) and training/ workshop for school teachers.



The department offers B.Sc. Geology program under Choice Based Credit and Semester System (CBCSS)and M.Sc. Geology program under Credit and Semester System (CSS). Admission and examinations are conducted as per the norms and regulations of the Mahatma Gandhi University.

Department has two smart class rooms, well equipped petrology, geochemistry laboratories, a museum with good collection of minerals, rocks & fossils and a library.


For more details about the course contact

Shri Dilipkumar P G

Head, Department of Geology

Phone: 9446054021




I B.Sc Geology

Tuition Fee: Rs. 660

Special Fee: Rs. 1085

II B.Sc Geology

Tuition Fee: Rs. 660

Special Fee: Rs. 590

III B.Sc Geology

Tuition Fee: Rs.660

Special Fee: Rs. 1065

I M.Sc. Geology

Tuition Fee: Rs. 1100

Special Fee: Rs. 1735

II M.Sc. Geology

Tuition Fee: Rs. 1100

Special Fee: Rs. 1330

*May be revised as per Govt directives

*CDC & PTA fund, library & lab fee is collected at the time of admission



Fees concession for SC/ST/OEC students

Educational Concession under Kumara Pillai Commission Report (KPCR)

Stipend for children of fisherman

Kerala State Scholarship

Scholarships for proficiency in sports

Suvarna Jubilee Merit Scholarship